My Story · Reflections

Unwritten

For my Sweet Sixteen party, my best friend Chelsea wrote a letter about me, life, and our friendship. She closed the letter with a line from a Natasha Bedingfield song, “Today is where your book begins. The rest is still unwritten.”

I had the word “Unwritten” put on the back of my senior class t-shirt in high school to represent the transitions of that year. Since I graduated, I haven’t worn the shirt much. Then, on a whim, I took it to California this summer for my youth ministry internship. During orientation, an advisor placed a piece of butcher paper on the ground with a U-turn shaped arrow drawn on it. We were instructed to place on object that represented who we are on the arrow in the spot we felt best represented where we are in our lives. I don’t think it was a coincidence that that shirt made it into my suitcase for the summer and for that weekend. I placed the shirt at the top of the curve, because I am about to turn a corner in my life – I am about to graduate from college.

The truth is, my book has already begun, and it has had some thrilling chapters. But it excites me to think about the parts that are still unwritten. I have a lot of questions, but not a lot of answers. For one thing, I don’t know where I will be or what I’ll be doing a year from now. But I know this. God will be with me every step of the way as I figure out my life one day at a time. In the last couple years God has taught me what it means to follow him, and I know that it has a cost. But so far it has been worth every sacrifice. I said no to God once and I can’t bear to have that wall separate us again. I have also said yes to God and experienced many joys as a result.

So today is where my book continues. This is where the rest will be written.

Leave a Reply

