My Story · Reflections

I Love Valentine’s Day

I have been single my entire life and I still love Valentine’s Day. To be honest, I don’t even consider Valentine’s Day a couple’s holiday.

I was very frustrated to discover when I went off to college that I am pretty much alone in my view.

They say you don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone and starting college brought an end to celebrating Valentine’s Day with my family. Every year, my mom transformed our home into a beautiful wonderland of hearts and pink and red. (I will acknowledge that beauty can be in the eye of the beholder, but I loved it.) Dinner on February 14 became something special. Though we shared family dinners every night, on Valentine’s we got out placemats, sometimes candles, and a few little extras that made the meal a little fancier. We exchanged cards with each other and opened the ones mailed from our relatives. One year my mom set up a scavenger hunt for us after dinner. Our first clue was under our plates. After going all through the house finding and solving clues, our reward was a heart shaped basket for each of us filled with treats and small gifts.

In the interest of full disclosure, I was a brat and threw a fit over the kind of candy my mom gave me. That was the only year she did a Valentine’s scavenger hunt. Mom – I’m so sorry for the way I acted. I have come to truly appreciate the time and effort you put into making Valentine’s Day a special day for our family each year. I love you so, so much.

That confession brings me to the point I’m trying to make. Valentine’s Day is a day to celebrate the love in our lives. The love we have from God, our families, our friends, and your significant other, if you have one. If you don’t have a significant other, it doesn’t mean you don’t have love. Celebrate the love you do have. Being away from my family on Valentine’s Day and hearing how everyone else views this holiday taught me that.

So no, I don’t have a Valentine this year. I have many. And that is why I love Valentine’s Day.

Leave a Reply

