Reflections

White Christmas

DSCN0737.JPG

“White Christmas” has always been one of my favorite Christmas carols, but I have never actually experienced a white Christmas, so I can’t really relate to the “just like the ones I used to know” line. The first time I got close was on a Saturday in December 2008 when it snowed all day and well into the evening. Watching the snow blanket our deck and the woods behind our house made my desire for a white Christmas even stronger, but my family was going to Florida, so I knew I wasn’t getting snow for Christmas.

That evening I was home alone and after scrounging around the kitchen for my dinner, I sat down in front of the TV to watch a cheesy Christmas movie. I quickly grew bored and my eyes were drawn to the window and the snowflakes glittering in the porchlight.

On a whim I decided to go out on the deck and immerse myself in the snowfall. I rushed to my room and dug my hat, gloves, and scarf from a box in my closet, shoved my feet into my boots, not bothering to tie them, and grabbed my coat. I clumped across the family room to the back door. After I opening it, I realized the screen opened outward and I had to push hard on the door to move the several inches of snow piled against it.

When I finally got outside, I made a couple of snowballs and threw them at a tree (I missed) and ate some of the fresh powder. Then I stopped and looked up at the snow coming down and felt the snowflakes land on my face. The absolute stillness and quiet overcame me as I stood there dreaming about someday having a white Christmas.

Then it hit me – Christmas is the day we celebrate the birth of the one who washed our sins as white as snow. The birth of our savior on Christmas day means that every Christmas is a white Christmas. I stood there amazed that God gave me my one Christmas wish in a way I never could have expected. And it was even better than what I thought I wanted. I stayed outside for a little while longer talking to God and softly singing my own made up version of “White Christmas.” Soon the cold started to creep in, so I went inside, but I still had a warm glow inside and the excitement that comes with the best Christmas present ever. I still want to have snow on Christmas, just once, but I now know all my Christmases will be white.

“Though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow”   Isaiah 1:18

Leave a Reply

