Reflections

January 2015 Pin-spired

pinspired2 copy

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 8.30.21 AM

I have had this green dress for a few years now. When I bought it, I loved that it was super comfortable, but I wasn’t sure how I would style it. Fortunately, I have figured out several ways to wear this dress year round. I only wish I had a close up of my scarf and earrings, both thrift store finds, that were my favorite parts of this fall styling.

I loved the photo on Pinterest and immediately thought it would be a great way to wear my dress on a day I would be mostly outside. Thanksgiving was my opportunity. One of the great things about Fresno is that Thanksgiving is a beautiful day to be outside (at least the two years I have been here).

I celebrated the holiday by attending Come and Dine, a Thanksgiving luncheon co-sponsored by several local churches and ministries at a downtown park. How it works is table hosts volunteer to prepare a Thanksgiving meal for 10. I co-hosted a table with a friend this year. We prepared our meal and brought it to the park and set up our table with the food and some decorations. Anyone from the community is welcome to come and enjoy the family style meal. Good food, good people, and good conversations. There were 30 tables this year, which means at least 300 people came to this party. As someone far from home, it is such a blessing to have a place to go on Thanksgiving and celebrate with the community that has become family to me.

For Christmas, I was able to go to my parents’ which was great, and I re-wore my green dress to the Christmas Eve service. But when I got back in town on Friday and reconnected with people over the weekend, I realized I was just as excited to be home with my Fresno¬†family as I had been to be home in Missouri. This holiday season has made me aware of how truly blessed I am.

Leave a Reply

