What's Up Wednesday

October 2015 What’s Up Wednesday

whatsupwed1

I am joining in on the What’s Up Wednesday link-up this month where I answer a bunch of questions to reflect on where my life is right now. So here goes . . .

What I’m Eating This Week

One of my roommates made Finnish Pancakes for a cultural event at the school where she works and liked them so much, she and I made some more on Sunday night. Yum. They are eggy, buttery deliciousness and I think I could eat the whole pan myself. And it is fun to pour the bater into a pool of melted butter and watch it all puff up in the oven.

What I’m Reminiscing About

I have been subbing lately in several middle and high school English classes. One of my favorite classes to sub for is a 7th grade Core class (Language Arts and History), which was my favorite class as a student. My teacher, Miss Holmes, was incredible and was great at merging the history and language arts elements. My favorite unit was on Cinderella. We studiedCinderella stories from all the different cultures we were studying for history and I was introduced to Ever After.

What Who I’m Loving

I have the best landlord. We have been having some plumbing issues and he has spent the last two days taking off work to dig a trench in our yard and replace the sixty-year-old sewage drain pipe. He’s a rockstar.

What I’m Dreading

I am not dreading anything, but I am ready to have a fully functional bathroom again.

What I’m Excited About

Next week I get to see my friend Ramya in Atlanta and attend the Christian Community Development Association Conference in Memphis. I attended CCDA two years ago and learned so much about how to do urban, multi-cultural ministry, which was then totally new to me. Now I have a little more experience under my belt, but I still have much to learn and am excited to see how God challenges me during the conference. I am also super stoked to hang out with Ramya for a couple days beforehand.

What I’m Watching/Reading

I am currently re-watching Numb3rs which I loved in high school. It has been fun to revisit these characters and it has been long enough I don’t always remember who the bad guy was. The other neat part has been recognizing guest stars who I wasn’t familiar with the first time around (like the guy who played Vincent Van Gogh in Doctor Who!).

As for reading, I am working through two novels – Lord of the World by Robert Hugh Benson and Death Comes for the Archbishop by Willa Cather. Both have been pretty interesting and though they were both slow starters, I am at the point where I really want to know how everything is going to end. Lord of the World is a dystopian story written in 1907, but set in early 21st century Europe. I don’t think religion is outlawed, per se, but it is restricted and the vast majority of people, and the government, hold to a secular humanistic philosophy. Despite this, at the part of the novel where I am at, the leaders of Europe are developing worship services to celebrate life, because they see worship as, “the deepest instinct in man.” We can say we don’t need God till we’re blue in the face, but he will keep drawing us in because our existence is completely tied up in him.

What I’m Listing To

L-O-V-E Radio on Pandora. Frank Sinatra, Nat King Cole, Ella Fitzgerald, Glenn Miller, Dean Martin, Etta James and the like. This music just makes me happy.

What I’m Wearing

Lots of dresses. They are easy, comfortable and I usually end up keeping them on even after I get home for the day.

What I’m Doing This Weekend

Halloween parties! Our youth group is helping out at a community Halloween party for elementary aged kiddos followed by a raging party for us. Candy and Chic-fil-a, what could be better? On Saturday I will be helping out at another neighborhood/church Halloween carnival which is always a good time.

What I’m Looking Forward to This Month

Thanksgiving! My parents are coming down to Fresno to host a table with me for Come and Dine. For the fourth year in a row, several downtown Fresno churches have partnered up to put on a Thanksgiving luncheon in the park. People sign up to host a table and cook a meal for ten and the party is open to anyone in the community – especially those with nowhere else to go. It is basically a big family and friends Thanksgiving with a few hundred people. This will be my third year and I wouldn’t miss it.

What Else is New?

I am pursuing a few career/vocation related leads, but it’s too soon to share details here.

My Favorite Thanksgiving Recipe

Last year I started experimenting with sourdough and when you feed it, you end with a lot of extra starter. I found this recipe that uses discarded starter and just shaped the dough into dinner rolls rather than pretzels and left off the topping. They are soft and have a great sourdough taste.

2 thoughts on “October 2015 What’s Up Wednesday

Leave a Reply

